I’ve really been loving salads lately.  In the summer they are so light and refreshing.  I think there are three thingsto add to any salad that make plain greens AMAZING! Whenever I’m at a restaurant, I always ask for a house salad, and add:

grilled shrimp (for some protein and to make it for a meal – chicken is so boring sometimes)

gorgonzola or goat cheese (been loving goat cheese lately)

and some kind of nut for some crunch (i also love sunflower or pumkin seeds)
p
Last night for dinner I had the most amazing salad.

It had all of my favorite components.  This salad consisted of goat cheese, candied walnuts, asparagus and beets! I loved everything.  I asked for balsamic dressing on the side.  So good!

Here are some other salads that I love.
Bonefish Grill House Salad.

This is one of my favorites. It has calamata olives, tomatoes, pumpkin seeds, and hearts of palm.  I ask for my with danish blue cheese. The dressing is so good as well.


This is the Barbina salad from Gigi’s.  It has walnuts, beets, goat cheese (all my faves) and underneath the salad is marinated mushrooms, green beans.

Of course, you can just make your own salad, which I love to do as well.  If you do, I suggest you make this dressing.

Balsamic Dressing
2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar
6 tablespoons of olive oil
1 tablespoon of dijon mustard
garlic powder, crushed oregano, salt and pepper

Combine, balsmaic, dijon, garlic powder, oregano, S&P, and slowly whisk in olive oil. It should be a very thick consistency if combined properly.  The dijon mustard is what makes it thick and emulsifies it.  You can also use any other kind of vinegar, or just fresh lemon juice.

Have a great day…Here is a cute picture of Jackson! Love him…

